Folgertech Prusa I3 build cheat sheet
June 24, 2015 04:15PM
This is a cheat sheet I compiled from the build log I kept while following the Folger Technologies Prusa I3 build manual, listing the things I found missing or unclear and the solutions I found to them. I'm not a mechanical or electrical guy, and the instructions often assume you are, and can fill in the blanks yourself.

It also contains a few comments along the way about problems I encountered about the design, build process, and parts. I've redacted all the swear words, I promise winking smiley

General:

The label on the "Frame Hardware Set" bag lists "3x M3 35mm bolts". These are actually 30mm.

It says you need a 14mm open end wrench for all the nuts that hold the bed frame together. Turned out the nuts are actually 1/2 inch (12.75mm).

It says you need a volt meter (or multimeter). If you have one, or get one, make sure it reads millivolts. That's what you need here, and not all do.

It says only that you need a slotted screwdriver, but the screws get smaller and smaller as you get into the electronics, so you'll need 2 or 3 small sizes.

It says you need a phillips screwdriver, but there are no phillips screws involved.

Some people crack the acrylic frame by tightening screws too much. As the instructions say, "snug is enough." This isn't metal, so go easy.

Specific steps:

Step 7: Assemble X carriage bearings into carriage

The recesses in the carriage for the bearings could use a tiny bit more length. One I was able to pop in with some force, but I had to trim some plastic for the other 2.

Step 9: Assemble left side Z axis carriage idler bearing

The nut trap for the M3 nyloc nut in the carriage is too big. It looks intended to hold the nut in place, but it lets it turn so I had to use pliers to hold it while I tightened the screw, which was awkward since it's recessed.

Step 12: Attach couplers to motors

"You can use the small wedge shaped acrylic piece as a spacer."