Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Recommendations for picking a printer

Posted by Allnight 
Recommendations for picking a printer
July 13, 2015 02:42PM
Hey guys, I'm new to 3d printing and am wondering if you have any recommendations. I'm getting into the hobby to help me make prototypes so being able to print a flexible material is important. I've also realized I can make some really nice personalized gifts for my girlfriend and friends. Money isn't a huge factor but from what I've seen the prusa i3's seem to be able to make a nice print in a decent sized build area. I considered getting a Mendel 90 but the new one coming out had a bowden extruder so that doesn't sound like a good mix with having a flexible material option.

The two I'm considering are the Geeetech which claims to print ABS, PLA, Wood, Nylon, flexible PLA and new Hesine Prusa i3 which claims to print all of the previous materials along with HIPS, Polycarbonate, PVA, TPU and Luminous material at $100 cheaper. The catch for the Hesine is it says PLA recommended.

I'm not sure what the difference is other than the brand. I see that the Geeetech says they use a MK8 extruder and the Hesine is unknown. Zooming in I can see the Hesine's extruder looks smaller. Do you think they're pretty comparable? Any advice on choosing a printer? I'm open to new suggestions. Thanks
Attachments:
open | download - Screenshot_2015-07-13-11-11-46.png (334.1 KB)
Re: Recommendations for picking a printer
July 13, 2015 09:13PM
I am using geeetech prusa i3b type, I guess i could say the best acrylic kit from china with 8mm thickness. I myself never consider to go for exotic materials yet but seeing how their stock hot end perform compared to my e3d v6, it is quite subjective.