Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

wrong size prints?

Posted by muntahunta 
wrong size prints?
August 07, 2015 08:59AM
Ok. I am new to 3d printing and I have a huge problem.
I am trying to create a new spool holder because my current spool is providing too much resistance for the machine to pull filament from the spool.

I got a spool holder design from here.
[www.thingiverse.com]

I printed off the 80mm big spool last night and when I measured it it was actually 70mm from my machine.
So today I printed the 90mm and it came out 55mm

I'm confused.

I also can not connect to a computer due to a fault with the machine so using software to edit the firmware isn't possible.... and as I say, I'm a complete beginner.

In the images attached are my setup (also any tips to help my filament feed better into the machine would be great, using the spool provided with the machine it isn't bringing in enough filament.)
And also the two big spools (80mm on the left, 90mm on the right... obviously they aren't those sizes)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attachments:
open | download - 2015-08-07 13.57.50.jpg (248.1 KB)
open | download - 2015-08-07 13.57.14.jpg (311.6 KB)
open | download - 2015-08-07 13.56.33.jpg (127.8 KB)
Re: wrong size prints?
August 08, 2015 03:48AM
Your spool holder should work fine. If the extruder isnĀ“t able to feed filament, you have to find out why.
Driver current to low?
Stepper gear or idler gear not in line with filament?
Not enough or to much pressure on the idler bearing?

If you want to improve your existing spool holder, just add two bearings on the threaded rod and fix them with nuts and washers.
Big washers on the outside to keep the spool running on the bearings.

But the problem you should address first, is to get communication to the controller going.
-Olaf
August 09, 2015 06:55AM
I have tried, there is another thread detailing he different things people have suggested and nothing works.