Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[Update] Testing motors - they hum but don't move

Posted by lurkus 
[Update] Testing motors - they hum but don't move
November 19, 2015 03:49PM
I built the He3D XI3 (http://reprap.org/wiki/XI3) and I want to test the motors. I'm using Pronterface on Linux Mint. I try to move the x-axis I hear the motor buzz but it doesn't actually move. When I try to move the y-axis or z-axis, the motors buzz then begin to make a clicking noise until I click "Motors off".

This is my first build so it's possible that I don't have anything connect properly!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/19/2015 05:48PM by lurkus.
Re: Testing motors - they hum but don't move
November 19, 2015 05:47PM
Ok, I learned about the trimpots. The reprap wiki says that the x and y-axis motors shouldn't make any sound. So I turn the trimpots counterclockwise and they never go silent.

If you keep turning the trimpots counterclockwise will you eventually reach a point where no power is going to the stepper motor? I kept turning and it never seemed to get to that point.
Re: [Update] Testing motors - they hum but don't move
November 19, 2015 09:04PM
Use a multimeter and set them to around 6.00-.650 volts. Also try changing the feedrate at which them move in the firmware. It might be set to high.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/19/2015 09:06PM by Bloodember.
November 20, 2015 02:33AM
It's possible that the connector on the controller and the stepper wires are not in the right order or one motor phase has to be switched around.
You often see " black-green-blue-red" color scheme ( which is what the controller expects ), but there is no standard between stepper manufacturers.

The stepper motors will always make noise when they move and some controllers with drivers in fast decay mode produce a louder noise when the motors are standing.
So I wouldn't put too much weight on the noise level, but on the Vref/motor current.