Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

HIC Tech Extruder issues *Noob*

Posted by kindaslow 
HIC Tech Extruder issues *Noob*
December 19, 2015 06:31PM
So I got a HIC Tech Printer off of the ebay. And I have been going round and round with it trying to get stuff to work. Found a thread on here with some steps/mm info that got the 3 axes working, now I need to get the extruder stepper moving. When in the jogging mode I can jog all of the axes but can't get the extruder stepper to jog. I am stumbling my way through this. Have seen that reloading the firmware might be the ticket, but I have not found said firmware on the internets. The control board is says Base V1.3 and really doesn't say anything else on it. I do believe that it is a HICTOP product from what I can gather. Any help?

Also, it came with a perferated sheet much like a printed circuit board. Any insight as to what that is for? I am a total noob on the semi-diy 3d printing thing. Got a fair amount of experience with production cnc machines, but these are a bit outside of my comfort zone.
Re: HIC Tech Extruder issues *Noob*
December 21, 2015 04:07PM
You can not extrude when the hotend is cold, heat it up first.
or set the "temp for preventing cold extrusion" in the firmware lower.
December 22, 2015 03:24AM
What gforce1 said is likely the culprit. I believe the min extrusion temperature is 170c for these but it really depends on your min temp setting in the firmware, so what you'll want to do is set the nozzle temperature to that but really if you don't want it to get all messed up set it to the proper temperature for the material you're using to set or test everything with. (I use 190c for my PLA which is lower than a lot I see, some use 200 or 210. its really a matter of tinkering with what you have until you find good temperatures for your hotend and material.)