Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Chinese eBay 3D printer - Story so far, and request for advice

Posted by brs1701d 
Chinese eBay 3D printer - Story so far, and request for advice
March 15, 2016 05:50AM
Hi all,

I had recently been looking at 3D printing as a new hobby, and following some initial research (arguably perhaps not enough), and the relatively low cost, I chose the the following from a supplier in the UK.

2016 Upgraded Full Quality High Precision Reprap Prusa i3 DIY 3d Printer

Supplier - printchainstore

The delivery was efficient, 3 days, so no complaints there.

First let me say that I am new to this hobby, so if I use the wrong terminology, forgive me as this is a fairly steep learning curve and any comments or advice will be appreciated.

I have had the following challenges so far:

Frame Parts
Whilst working through the parts supplied, I discovered that there were 2 right sides of the frame. Contacted the supplier, who advised they would send a replacement part from the UK. A week later, and no delivery, I sent a followup email and received a reply offering a £15 refund? I decided to take another look at the sides and discovered they were pretty much identical apart from the mounting holes for the power supply, and the hole for the power switch.

Solution: Modify the existing side and take the refund.

Broken Glass
This was badly protected and had been shattered during transport. Supplier notified and a £10 refund offered.

Solution: Take refund and source replacement.

Threaded Rod
As been previously reported in other reports, these were both bent.

Solution: Replacements purchased.

Temperature Readings