Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to reprap---having a little difficulty...trying my patience

Posted by NoSkillzEngineer 
New to reprap---having a little difficulty...trying my patience
March 23, 2016 11:43PM
Hi all, I am extremely new to reprap. With less than two months experience, I have struggled more than I care to admit spending more than I care to admit in [something that will print] because I boldly....and ignorantly claimed I could do this no problem. Murphy's Law has kicked my butt along with my own ignorance of all this. It's a lot to take in, and I've learned a lot quickly. Just to give a perspective, I went from knowing nothing about electronics and computers six months ago, to diving into Arduino and a 3D printer about two months ago. Stubbornly, I first tried to do this without any printed parts....tried using things I had around the house....It's been....educational to say the least. I had some sense ordering parts because I have what I believe is everything....at least essential to print. Unless my wiring is incorrect, or I'm missing something I am unaware about, I only have no heated print board, and a piece of glass from an old printer that is really big but has kapton tape (if that's the right spelling).

I am a 22 year old engineering student with very electrical and electronics experience, I just switched from mechanical engineering to electrical and computer science this semester. Needless to say, the Arduino IDE is still VERY confusing to me. My print board is NOT level, I know it's not. I had hoped it was level enough for my first few prints to print a few parts to improve it rapidly and get the full dimensions I planned for to print my own bed. As a full time student, I have no job and printing has been my obsession and I know I can get my parents funding support back with what I have planned but this is more than difficult for me.