Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

HICTOP Prusa I3 now working great : my configuraton.h file

Posted by GeorgeL16 
HICTOP Prusa I3 now working great : my configuraton.h file
April 24, 2016 12:30PM
First off, I have only been into 3D printing for 2 months and no where a expert in the field, however I'm an engineer by trade and have been coding longer that I want to mention. This is just a very small summary of getting a HICi3 from just the box quality, to a pretty darn good printer, at least in my book...

My current HICi3 with multiple calibration test objects printed yesterday, there are more test object tossed in boxes (more on that later...):

Have had my HICTOP Reprap Prusa I3 black aluminum frame printer for about 2 months and have tweaked and refined it. Yesterday downloaded Marlin 1.1.0-RC5 and got the firmware uploaded and is performing great. I use custom stainless machine-shop-straight stainless z-axis rods, custom motor couplers. Rods are standard 8mm x 1.25mm pitch, the OEM ones were warped steel junk.

Do not use OEM firmware, we have horror stories include my own in that the HIC supplied source would not even compile = syntax errors! Latest HICTOP OEM supplied firmware .hex file upload using Cura bricked my friends HICi3 RAMPS v1.4 control board. Do yourself a favor and download latest Marlin directly as in the latest Marlin-1.1.0-RC5 as of yesterday at least, and edit the file to work with your printer. You can use mine that is attached here to save some headaches, in particular end-stops, bed size, etc., then compile/upload using Arduino IDE v1.6.8 (do not use a IDE v1.5.x version according to Marlin/Github):
Latest Marlin RC here
[github.com]

For your review, here is my partial listing of my latest (and heavily commented) EEPROM settings in the Configuration.h file:

// Default AXIS STEPS, MAX_FEEDRATE, ACCELERATION settings

// Default AXIS STEP Settings (motor steps) X, Y, Z, E