Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Build times way off my on Prusa i3 Anet A8

Posted by ScottB66 
Build times way off my on Prusa i3 Anet A8
April 27, 2016 07:57AM
Hello all,

I am new to this 3d printing world as I just recentely purchased a Reprap Prusa i3 printer from Ebay, My printer is the acrylic frame model. Everything went well with the build and I am happy with the printer other than the need to replace the Y axis acrylic subplate with a aluminum plate. My question is: I have used both Cura and Repetier for my slicing and both slicers will show a total time to print the part, I have found this number calculated to be way off, Just last night I went to print a file and the time calculated was 4 hours, 7 1/2 hours later my part was completed. Am i missing something? is there a way to get a more accurate build time? The time will update if I change layer height, fill amount, etc, but the actual printing is always a considerable amount longer than the software calculated time.

Scott
Re: Build times way off my on Prusa i3 Anet A8
April 27, 2016 01:33PM
It's the lag in communication between the computer and printer. Print directly from the SD Card to get the fastest print times.
April 27, 2016 10:39PM
I use [gcode.ws] to get a more accurate calculation of the time.

My updated Instructable on our Prusa i3 Build
[www.instructables.com]
May 02, 2016 06:32AM
I have been printing directly from the SD card and it really makes no difference vs printing from the USB. I will give the Gcode.ws a try. THX .
May 03, 2016 08:52AM
This has been annoying me for a while as well. I don't know how the slicers are calculating the time but I was wondering if they are using the max print speed value. Since everything will be lower than this it may account for the error. Any one want to have a look at their speed settings and reduce the max print speed to there highest set print speed and see if the times get closer.