Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Questions before I begin building

Posted by av8r1 
Questions before I begin building
May 08, 2016 11:54PM
Hi all, new member here. My name is Adam. I have some experience with commercial 3D printers, and I've got it in my head to build a RepRap from scratch. I like the elegant design of the Prusa_i3, so I'll use that.

I have access to a maker space equipped with 3D printers, laser engravers, machine shop and electronics lab. From other projects, I have a large slab of 1/4 inch acrylic and several rolls of PLA. I do have a couple questions before I get started:

Is PLA sufficient for the printed parts of this printer (besides possibly the hot end carriage)?

Is acrylic safe and stable enough for that plate underneath the print surface?

Does anyone have any recommended sources for electrical components such as control boards, power supplies and steppers? Any to avoid?

I'm planning on using an E3D Lite hot end with bowden extruder. I like the drop-in compatibility with the E3Dv6 should I choose to upgrade later. Is there anything I should know?

Is there a reliable, high-quality source for the rods and hardware?

If it is appropriate, I will update this thread with my build progress. Right now, I've just downloaded all the .stl files.

This should be fun. And frustrating.

EDIT: Also, where can I get a .dxf file of the i3's plates? The wiki page has a .png preview, but I can't find the cad file.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/09/2016 12:07AM by av8r1.
Re: Questions before I begin building
May 10, 2016 07:08PM