Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How to improve my cheap China Kit

Posted by studiohead 
How to improve my cheap China Kit
June 03, 2016 09:28AM
Hello All,

I am pretty new to to 3D Printing and gotten and assembled my first 3D Printer which is a i3 clone kit from China. and there are quite a number of issues I have. I know I went for the cheap first approach as I figure that it is best to just get my feet into the door at the lowest possible price and then proceed with upgrades from there on. I am actually located in Singapore and would be traveling to the Bay aera for work in about a week so I hope to order some of the parts online from Amazon or source from the location stores. The 2 items on my list at the moment is some Kapton Tape and the Blue Tape. I would like to know from the community what else should I be considering as well to enhance the printered especially since I cannot get the PCB heated bed above 85 degrees C. Currenlt I am doing PLA on a bare glass bed at 210 Degrees C and bed at 55 Degrees C and hope to start on ABS. I am using Cura Engine as the slicing engine with a Z-Hop of 0.4mm and tried aligning the bed so there is a slight resistance on the nozzle when I drag a sheet of paper underneath it. Attached are images of my printer.

Re: How to improve my cheap China Kit
June 06, 2016 09:52AM
Greetings from Germany!

The first thing i improved was the plate. I had so much problems with the adhesion at glas, so i bought a "plastic plate". In germany its called "Dauerdruckplatte". Its a special material where the filament stucks when ist hot. if it cools down, you can remove it easily.

[CsAAOSwhcJWHq8b" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">www.ebay.de]

The next thing was the extruder. Now i have a bowden extruder, so there are much less vibrations at the hotend. But the difference is minimal.

Imprtant is the calibration. you find very much threads an guids about it. In my oppinio that makes about 50% of the qualitiy.