Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Anet A8 doesn't detect sd card.

Posted by Lon 
Lon
Anet A8 doesn't detect sd card.
October 17, 2016 12:00PM
Hi all, i'm new to 3d printing and assembled my new printer over the weekend. Problem is that the screen comes on and show printer is ready for print, but it don't show my sd card. I've copied 2 gcode files to it but no luck. Please give some advice.
Re: Anet A8 doesn't detect sd card.
October 17, 2016 12:30PM
might be dissabled in configuration.h

//#define SDSUPPORT // Enable SD Card Support in Hardware Console
October 17, 2016 12:39PM
Hi,

press the centre menu button on the printer and go down the menu until you get to SD Card. Enter it (right button) and go to Unmount SD Card. Enter it and the remove the card. Clean the contacts on the SD card with a cloth. Replace in the socket on the control board, making sure that you press it right down and that it locks down in place. Go to the Menu again and select SD Card. Enter it (right button) and you should then have an option to Mount Card. Enter it (right button). The machine should see the card and the available options should change to show Unmount Card.

You should be now able to use the print file option and select the folder and file using the buttons.

Have you connected the printer to your computer using the USB lead yet? If so, and you have installed the drivers and software (including Repetier Host) as detailed in the PDF file on the SD card under software, then open repetier host and click the connect button. It should connect and see the SD card and read its directories and files which will be displayed in the log file at the bottom of the computer screen.