Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Configuration for Home X, Y, Z

Posted by Lancedrg 
Configuration for Home X, Y, Z
December 15, 2016 03:10PM
I am a novice to this field. I completed the build and downloaded all the software. I am at the step where I am doing the manual set up of the X, Y, and Z. My printer is plugged in, my computer is plugged in to the printer. I click the home buttons and nothing happens. What do I do? Also, it says the X home has to be 1mm from the edge of the heat bed. How do I know where to put the heat bed? Confused and maybe sound dumb but any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
Re: Configuration for Home X, Y, Z
December 15, 2016 04:21PM
please don't cross posts the same things in every section.

check the following.

Firmware: (presuming you have a ramp motherboard)

You have to set your reprap mother board to the correct type. #define MOTHERBOARD 33 for a normal ramps, or BOARD_RAMPS_14_EFB for new firmwares.

motors
move x in -ve direction head should move left, +ve direction head should move right.
move y in -ve direction bed should move back, +ve direction should move bed forward.
move z in -ve direction head should move down, +ve direction head should move up.

make sure these are correct (may not be able to move in negative direction until endstops work)

Endstop direction.

If your X end stop is on the left it is a min endstop, if its on the right its a max endstop.
if your Y end stop is at the back it a min endstop, if its on the front its a max endstop.
if your Z end stop is it the bottom its a min endstop, if its at the top its a max endstop.

Now set your homing direction to match you hardware

eg
// Sets direction of endstops when homing; 1=MAX, -1=MIN
#define X_HOME_DIR -1,
#define Y_HOME_DIR -1
#define Z_HOME_DIR -1

Switch type endstops
#define ENDSTOPPULLUPS needs to be set.
The switches should be wired from C and NC on the switch to S and - on the ramps.