Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder Motor Problem

Posted by Stuah 
Extruder Motor Problem
January 18, 2017 09:05PM
Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner, so excuse me for my lack of printing knowledge. I finished building my i3 a couple of days ago and have been trying to print using Repetier Host and Slic3r, as recommended by RepRap Guru.
I've tried several times now to print a simple Lego brick, but no PLA is extruded and the extruder motor is making a clicking sound. When I control the extruder manually via Repetier, the filament comes out in a fairly unpredictable manner (extruding 10mm actually gives much more than 10mm, while 5mm may not extrude anything at all), but it does extrude and the motor does not make the clicking sound.
What am I doing wrong?
Re: Extruder Motor Problem
January 18, 2017 09:37PM
Sounds like the motor may not be getting enough current. On the stepper motor driver for the extruder motor, you should find a small potentiometer that controls current to the motor. Try adjusting that up (clockwise) in small increments of about a quarter turn and see if the motor behaves differently. When extruding manually, you should definitely be able to get a consistent amount out.

When adjusting the potentiometer, make sure you either power off the printer, or use a special anti-static screwdriver designed for this purpose.
January 18, 2017 10:05PM
I adjusted the pot up to .6V with no better results, then went back to the recommended setting of .55V.

I should describe in more detail what is happening with the manually controlled extrusion. It seems to pull in a consistent amount of filament without any issue, but the filament that is extruded comes out quickly at first, then slows down and oozes for quite a while. When I say to extrude 10mm, I assume that means that 10mm should come out of the nozzle rather than 10mm being pulled into the extruder.