Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

CTC Reprap Prusa i3 3d Printer problems

Posted by Bee69 
CTC Reprap Prusa i3 3d Printer problems
March 07, 2017 03:56AM
Hi Guys.
I'm a total novice at 3D printers. I bought a printer off Ebay and it's giving me a load of headaches.It was advertised as: 2017 Upgraded Full Quality High Precision Reprap Prusa i3 DIY 3d Printer.
The thing has not worked since I've had it. The board is a GEEETEC GT2560. and all seemed fine but the extrude motor does not work. I've tested the motor and the wiring and they are all good.
If I hold the filament it feels like it just twitches but not feed.the company sent me a replacement board but that was even worse than the original so I bought a new board and that's not working.
Any help will be much appreciated.
Adrian
Re: CTC Reprap Prusa i3 3d Printer problems
March 07, 2017 08:13AM
Clogged nozzle ? hot end not heating ? I have the same printer and aside all "being cheap" problems it was working fine. I'm also fresh on the 3d printing bandwagon, btw grinning smiley
March 07, 2017 08:32AM
Im betting Baron got it right with the "hot end not heating". You can't extrude unless the hot end is above a pre-set temperature - limited in firmware - and that temperature is sufficient to melt your material.
Don't know what material you are using but for PLA I believe you need about 160C and for ABS over 210.
A picture of the machine is always good.
Is this a direct drive extruder or Bowden?
Check the voltage setting for the motor driver.
Heat the hot end to the desired temperature and push the filament through by hand to prove there is no blockage.
For a direct drive check the throat on the hot end is not so far through the mounting block that it touches the gear and prevents it rotating.
March 07, 2017 10:58AM
Hi guys thanks for the reply. the hot end is getting hot. It's not clogged. I'm using PLA set the temp to 205. The drive motor is twitching not feeding.
This is the printer. [www.ebay.co.uk]