Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extrude without a Hotend

Posted by Viko 
Extrude without a Hotend
May 01, 2017 11:09PM
Hello RepRap Community.

I am not very experienced in coding and 3d printers but i am eager to learn.
so i bought a diy 3d printer (a prusa i3) and it was a success. However, now i want to make it in to a paste extruder.
the thing is i have been struggling to change the code so the extruder motor would work without a hotend. as in use the extruder motor to drive the syringe.
its getting really frustrating now sad smiley
if there is anyone who knows what im doing wrong or have any advice i gladly welcome them smiling smiley
thanks

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/01/2017 11:10PM by Viko.
Re: Extrude without a Hotend
May 02, 2017 01:48AM
You can use a simple g-code command to allow cold extrusion. (dont let the name fall you, g-code is not coding just machining commands)

M302 P1 ; Allow cold extrusion

Just enter the above code from your host software (pronterface or repitear) and you should be good to test the paste extruder.

Here is a handy list of g-code commands [reprap.org]
May 04, 2017 11:25PM
Hey Scotty,
Thank you for the reply i sure did try that but when i enter the Gcode for cold extrusion it says "sending.." and thats about it. However, other Gcode commands work fine.. for instance homing all axis and all..
i wonder whats wrong with this.
So, lets say even if i get this working (Thanks to your help) how can i control the extrusion via RAMPS 1.4 with out the hot end attached. Like say i want to print something, and X. Y, Z steppers work fine.. will the E0 extruder work like normal without the hot end? or is this just a one time command to test the E0.

Sorry if i sound dumb xD but this is the only hope i have in figuring it out.
Thank you for your time Scotty

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/04/2017 11:26PM by Viko.
May 05, 2017 12:03AM