Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ZRIB board heat bed problem

Posted by gstprecision 
ZRIB board heat bed problem
August 10, 2017 01:24PM
Hi guys, I am brand new here and also to the 3d printing world so please be easy...lol

I have a Prusa I3 variant with the Zonestar Zrib board. My heat bed stopped working a couple weeks ago, waiting on a replacement, but the place I bought it from is really slow. Anyway, before it stopped working I noticed the temperature going way past the settings then back down to zero. I checked the heat bed and when applying current directly it works no problem.

I have limited knowledge of electronic but can figure it out normally. In the next picture, in the red square, is the transistor (I believe it is what it is called) that I believe is the cause of the problem. Any way to replace it easily, it appears that the back is soldered directly on the board?

Thanks
GST
Re: ZRIB board heat bed problem
August 10, 2017 03:02PM
That is a mosfet and for someone who has electronics training it removes very easily. Someone told me that they could do it, however they used the wrong equipment, got the parts to hot, ripping the circuit board traces away from the board destroying the circuit board.

If you lookup the part on the internet and purchase it you can go the your local technical collage with an electronics department, talk the teacher/professor to have one of their students do it.
I suggest this because the local repair stores will charge 1 hour + inflated price for part to replace (customer part cannot be used).
long story short it would have cost more than New with a 2 to 3 weeks waiting for the parts.

You can use a heat gun if you have a nozzle to direct the heat only onto to the mosfet. then remove with a pair of needle nose pliers.
jump to 1:

OR