Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Scratch build PRUSA MK3 slightly larger

Posted by Schwartzer 
Scratch build PRUSA MK3 slightly larger
March 01, 2018 11:54AM
Hello I am new to the form and 3d printing. I am planing on building a PRUSA MK3 clone. Nothing is written in stone yet. Current idea:
Basically a cone but 300x x 300y x 400z mm using 12mm smooth rods.
Does anyone see any mechanical issues doing this? particularly with the bed.
What is the weight of the bed I should stay under with 3 bearings?
For cost is there any sizes I should or should not do because part pricing or locating. (saw the mega PRUSA but parts pricing was getting pretty high)
Plan on using a J6 head any recommendations? cheap reliable? (would like to be able to upgrade to a dual filament feed system)
bed heaters reliable sources?
What is the maximum weight requirements for z using 8mm Acme screw and the 17 nema motor.
Accuracy and quality is important so I will reduce size to keep accuracy and quality.
I have done some research but there is a lot of data and some is pretty dated. so any links for good/new resources would be helpful.
Re: Scratch build PRUSA MK3 slightly larger
March 01, 2018 03:32PM
I won't comment on the mechanics. But you will need at least 270W of bed heater power and preferably 360W to heat a 300 X 300mm bed in a reasonable time. This is not practical using 12V power. One option is 24V power and electronics capable of running at 24V and switching 15A of bed current. So not budget electronics like RAMPS. Another is an AC mains voltage bed heater controlled by a DC-AC SSR, but I don't advise that if the bed will be moving in the Y axis for safety reasons.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
March 01, 2018 04:31PM