Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Modifying/upgrading CBot i3 Printer

Posted by Cougar281 
Modifying/upgrading CBot i3 Printer
April 05, 2018 05:25PM
I've been printing on my CBot i3 printer for a few months now, and although I've had some learning pains, mainly with regards to different filament, such as PETG, the printer has been making some pretty decent (IMO) prints - nothing has really failed that wasn't somehow my fault (for the most part - there was this one print..). But one area where I feel it's lacking is the way it rides along the X and Y axis. It's got 2020 and 2040 extrusion that the build plate and nozzle carriage ride on via plastic wheels. Overall, they're not bad, but at least on the Y axis, the wheels aren't 100% smooth for whatever reason, and this could be the reason the build plate doesn't seem to run perfectly even from end to end. Besides the Z stop sensor going from detecting the build plate to not and back when only the Y Axis is moving, I also get a wave-like pattern in the prints (very minute, but visible) that would seem to indicate something off with one or more of the wheels.

So this brings me to the first upgrade/modification I'd like to investigate. Does anyone have any suggestions on the best way to approach replacing the existing mechanism with two rails and linear bearings? At the moment, I'm not sure of the best way to attach rails to the platform my printer is attached to, but once that's figured out, I'm suspecting that I'm probably going to need or want a different carriage to be able to mount to the rails. Ideally, for simplicity, I'd like to leave the 2040 piece that the Y axis motor is mounted to and the belt runs through, but I don't think that should be an issue. Any thoughts?
Re: Modifying/upgrading CBot i3 Printer
June 06, 2018 04:58PM
No one has any thoughts on this? It seems like the little plastic wheels the build plate rides on are slowly shredding from the printing.