Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Maintenance?

Posted by Theolodian 
Maintenance?
October 12, 2015 03:12PM
OK, so the STLs for v1.0 are starting to come out and mine isn't sounding as smooth any more. I have been lubing the connecting rods. What about the linear bearings, WD40? Anything else I should service, with or without taking it apart?

Yes I have checked the online documentation, the maintenance page is still blank.

Thanks.
Re: Maintenance?
October 12, 2015 03:28PM
I am not an expert but i have seen some guys using grease instead of oil.. I guess its because it lasts longer...
October 12, 2015 07:03PM
WD40 is not useful for anything that isn't seized or rusty - it's not a lubricant. It's awful stuff that ruins polymers like acrylic. I have a bed off an old BFB that it comletely cracked and crazed where someone tried to lube the printer with WD40 that sprayed all over the place.

I use 3 in 1 white lithium grease on the balls for the connection rods as it doesn't make the acrylic go crazy - spray a small amount into the cap and then use a cotton bus to apply it. Don't spray it directly as it's thick and gets everywhere and is a nightmare to clean off completely. I use 3 in 1 oil with graphite for the linear bearings. The graphite oil is in a old tin with a white and orange label... I can find anywhere to buy more :-(
PRZ
October 13, 2015 11:07AM
You may have a look to theses topics:

[forums.reprap.org]

[forums.reprap.org]
October 13, 2015 01:37PM
Found this Food safe white grease

I am trying to stay with food safe lubricants since I am making trinkets for my kids and expect to take it to their primary school for science week. Might as well play it safe.
October 21, 2015 04:32PM
I really need to deal with this, especially after that 4.5hr print. I am also getting low on white PLA, and some Orange would be nice for Halloween. Why oh why can't I order PLA filament and food safe silicone/grease from one place? winking smiley