Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Looking for a build Mentor

Posted by Derae 
Looking for a build Mentor
April 12, 2012 11:36PM
Hello all, my name is Derae and I'm looking to build myself a 3D Printer.
I want to do this fairly cheaply as I'm a poor student. Thing is..., I don't know where to start. I don't even know which model would be the best option for me. I want to build prototypes for ball jointed doll pieces so I'd like the best detail I can get, but it doesn't have to be flawless, I can go over the item with super sculpey to smooth things out.

I have access to a fairly well equipped jewelery workshop so cutting metal parts won't be an issue, and I have family friends who could likely help me with the electronic side of things too.

So gentlemen (and ladies), would you like to help?
Re: Looking for a build Mentor
April 13, 2012 01:37AM
Hi Derae,

I'm sure there are plenty of people on this forum (as well as the #reprap IRC channel) that would be more than happy to help point you in the right direction. There's also the possibility of going to your local hackerspace to talk and get practical assistance. Where abouts in NZ are you based?

Cheers,

Matt
April 13, 2012 01:42AM
I'm based in Christchurch. (Thanks for being so welcoming!)
April 13, 2012 04:04AM
Hi,

At the risk of annoying the reprap community...

Is your motivation to build a machine or to design stuff? If you want to spend more time designing stuff have you looked at Shapeways you will get superb quality at a reasonable price. If your motivation is to make a machine consider buying parts from Ebay will save you quite alot compared to sourcing through local shops. If you are after a machine the up and coming Makibox might suit you, rumoured to be a sub $300USD machine when it is complete.

Hope this is of some small help.

regards
Andrew
April 13, 2012 08:25AM