Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

An 'open question' for the local reprap community...

Posted by TheRevva 
An 'open question' for the local reprap community...
May 10, 2013 07:52PM
Hi guyz'n'galz,

I was beginning to wonder whether or not I am 'abusing the intent of this forum'.
It's (painfully) obvious to anyone that I'm VERY new to the reprap. and perhaps equally obvious that I'm VERY enthusiastic and inquisitive about ALL aspects. It's no surprise to me that almost every time I come across a 'eureka moment', I will find that someone, somewhere, has 'been there, done that'.

My question for y'all is:
Is this the correct forum for me to share my 'reprap musings'?
The LAST thing I want to achieve is to unexpectedly alienate anyone in the reprap community.
I find that 'typing out my thoughts' is a very effective method to reinforce things to myself but perhaps I should be doing that 'privately' rather than here?
I'm sure y'all will direct me to any pertinent 'forum guidelines'. I've not been able to find any such guidelines here yet, so I figure it's safer to just ask y'all 'up front'.
Re: An 'open question' for the local reprap community...
May 11, 2013 06:21AM
Hmmm, no responses? Not sure if that's a GOOD thing or a BAD thing...
I guess I'll just keep going until I'm told otherwise...

Here's one of the many 'thoughts' that I've been pondering over:
From what I understand, it's not uncommon to be throwing out stepper motor steps at 40kHz.
Admittedly, these are most often 1/16-step microsteps so the 'effective' signal being transmitted is a stepped sine wave at 40/16kHz = 2.5kHz.
Nevertheless, at motor currents of a couple amps, this is still quite a decent chunk.
All of the present electronics packages I've seen utilise 'built in' stepper drivers and route comparatively high current / frequency cabling to the individual motors. (4 wires to each motor on a bipolar).