Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Preferred brand of 'printer adhesive'? (also, hi everyone)

Posted by KLee 
Preferred brand of 'printer adhesive'? (also, hi everyone)
July 27, 2013 02:54AM
Hi everyone. I haven't posted much before, but I've been lurking before deciding to build a printer this year. Just a quick bit about me, I'm a postgrad student in Dunedin, so engineering isn't my field (health sciences). I decided to get a Makerfarm Prusa i3 with the money I scraped over summer.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone has a brand of 'printer adhesive' they prefer over the others. I saw this at New World and picked it up cheap. Problem is, even with a heated bed, some of the corners are curling off the bed while using this stuff.

Re: Preferred brand of 'printer adhesive'? (also, hi everyone)
July 27, 2013 07:11AM
I'm guessing you are printing with ABS??? Nothing wrong with the brand and hopefully it doesn't smell too much.
July 27, 2013 09:43AM
Nope, printing with PLA actually... 187oC for white PLA from diamondage.

Any suggestions on how thick I should spray it down?
July 27, 2013 05:39PM
What surface are you printing onto? I print my PLA straight onto glass mirror tile (with a heated bed), and it doesn't give me any warping problems. ABS is a different story though. I find that ABS is more tricky when the ambient temperature is lower, so maybe that's contributing to making even PLA hard for Dunedinites :-).

Maybe try a test where you put a corrugated cardboard box around the printer, and see if that's enough to trap heat from the HBP to keep the ambient temp up a bit.

Cheers,
Len.
July 27, 2013 10:37PM
I agree with Lenbok. I print straight on to glass. I have also use Kapton tape which works well, both of these for PLA. Some people I know use dilute PVA with PLA and hairspray with ABS with good results. You could try making your heated bed a litlle warmer tha can help ( a little is 5 degrees).
July 28, 2013 06:30AM