Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hamilton Build

Posted by thorburn 
Hamilton Build
April 12, 2014 01:58AM
Hi all,
I'm very new to this and i'm hoping to get advice before I run into headaches.
What I want is the greatest accuracy, the least maintenance and for as cheap as possible. Listed in order of importance

Currently i've got the following:
Electronics
Freaduino Mega2560 (Max.support 2A)
3D printer ramps shield v1.4 and A4988 stepsticks
3 x Mech endstop v1.4
3.1″ LCD smart controller board with LCD2004
PCB heatbed MK2a
5x Nema17 78 oz/inch with 2x gt2 pulleys and belts

Frame and mechanical
5mm threaded rod with bearings
8mm threaded rod
Plenty of fasteners

Need to buy
lm8uu - [www.aliexpress.com]
8mm smooth rod - trade tools
hot end - I'm not sure what I want or if I should try make my own
extruder - Again i've got no idea what to go for
profile cut pieces for I3 - Once I decide what I want I'll send it out to get cut
connectors for endstops and steppers
i3 parts - if someone will sell them for a decent price. Would anyone print me some in exchange for a roll of plastic?If that fails i'll have a go at making them in metal
Cooling fans - Maybe import
Power unit - Just started looking for something suitable on trademe. Not sure what is good or bad
And some other stuff that is hopefully inexpensive

Original thoughts are to make a prusa i3 (i'm open to other options).

Any and all advice welcomed.
I'm no
Re: Hamilton Build
April 12, 2014 04:02AM
for cooling fans, yup import em from somewhere like aliexpress 4-6$ instead of $20+ if you buy local.
for power supply you want one that has 30amps on the 12v rail, if you want to use a heated bed. without heated bed 16 amps will do.
for a pc power supply to have 30amp 12v rail you are generally looking at 450watt plus, this is because most budget pc's need more 5v amps than 12v.

what are you using for your frame?