Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

filament source in new zealand

Posted by beeep22 
filament source in new zealand
December 05, 2014 01:16PM
Hello,

I am quite new to 3d printing and would like to know where you get your filament from in new zealand. E.g. do you get it from jaycar(expensive) , diamond age (very vey expensive), or di you just get a filastruder? I woukd like to know.

Thanks,
Beeep22
Re: filament source in new zealand
December 05, 2014 02:54PM
Trade me is your friend.Hobbyist has pla for $38.90,though a limited colour range.
Depending on your location,shipping may be around $10.
Places like Noel leeming etc. see 3d filament as a cash cow,with pricing to match.
December 07, 2014 12:17AM
Just be warned, cheap filament can turn out to be expensive and frustrating. Diamond Age is far more reasonably priced per kg with their 3mm filament than their 1.75mm. This price difference steered me towards building my printer to use 3mm. So far I have used several spools of Diamond Age PLA plus a reel of ABS as well as Ninjaflex (from Fenner Drives) - all with excellent results. My son and I then built up another 3D printer for him, that uses 1.75mm filament bowden fed. We bought a small quantity of 1.75mm filament from Diamond Age to get it up and running and then bought a 1 kg spool cheap off trademe. The Diamond Age filament extruded reliably but we had no end of trouble with blockages with the Hobbyist stuff. It was un-coloured filament so should not have been full of junk to colour it. It turned out that the filament was closer to 2mm than 1.75mm and was just too tight to slide freely in the 2mm ID teflon tube. Maybe with a geared extruder drive or a direct drive (non-bowden) extruder it would be OK, but it was un-usable with an ungeared extruder drive pushing it thru a bowden tube. That filament won't be used till I make an extruder to push it thru my 3D printer.