Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First few mm of prints missed on Prusa-Mendel

Posted by Peter Kinnon 
First few mm of prints missed on Prusa-Mendel
January 22, 2015 01:45PM
Hi, I am a newbie so please excuse naivety.

I have acquired a Prusa Mendel. Produces very good quality prints except that the first (bottom) few millimeters are consistently missing. It is not simply a scaling issue (steps per mm) as horizontal holes are a corresponding distance off center.

Same thing occurs whether STL is downloaded from Thingiverse or prepared myself on Tinkercad. So presume problem not there. I have upgraded to latest versions of slic3r and Pronterface. All to no avail.

Can anybody diagnose/suggest remedy?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/22/2015 01:51PM by Peter Kinnon.
Re: First few mm of prints missed on Prusa-Mendel
January 22, 2015 03:38PM
You first need to determine if it is something flaky in your G-code or if it is a printer hardware issue. Open something in pronterface and click the graphic then step up thru layers. Check that the Z dimension listed corresponds with the height of features you are expecting to see at that level. If that checks out, use a vernier caliper to measure the vertical height of your X carriage when the print starts and re-check it each time it goes up a layer. Pause the print with pronterface each layer so you can make the measurement. My guess is that you either have a backlash issue on your Z axis or your leadscrews aren't attached to the steppers tightly enough. The Prusa-Mendel usually has two nuts and a spring on each lead screw to control backlash.

Look up some simple calibration objects on thingiverse to find some quick objects to test with.

My Prusa Mendel i2 inspired Repstrap with welded steel frame: [youtu.be]
And my Smartrap derived Briefcase 3D printer: [youtu.be]
January 23, 2015 04:59AM
Thanks for your suggestions.