Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Just wondering why is Marlin 2.0 FW moving so slow to alpha and release?

Posted by Crunch69 
March 28, 2019 04:17PM
Is the need for 32 bit controllers limited?
Are there major issues porting over the 8 bit code?

I have been chomping at the bit since 2017 to upgrade all my printers to 32 bit and just waiting for the 2.0 FW and the best controller that will work the best. Is there a controller today that will will work with no issues today with Marlin 2.0? The new MKS SBASE looks good on paper providing a single board 32 bit design, replaceable stepsticks and the same processor as the re arm
Re: Just wondering why is Marlin 2.0 FW moving so slow to alpha and release?
March 29, 2019 03:56PM
Just find a board that's listed with a green heart in the first post of https://github.com/MarlinFirmware/Marlin/issues/7076 and have at it. The current state of the bugfix-2.0.x branch is very usable, both with 8 and 32 bit boards. I've been using it on my RAMPS/Mega2560 combination with no issues at all.
March 30, 2019 07:51AM
One of the main objectives of the move from Marlin 1.x.x to 2.x.x is to do some major restructuring of the entire code base.

Such a restructuring is a major undertaking, and can basically be done in one of two ways:
- you can re-start from scratch, and re-program everything.
- you can implement a new structure, by slowly and meticulously move one procedure/module at a time over to the new programming structure/method, and then, at every step of the way, test that you have maintained the very same functionality, on every combination of hardware.

As new, modified or improved functionality is however continually also being added to the old code base, and thus also needs to continually also be implemented in the new structure, it becomes an even more lengthy process to reach a point of complete restructuring of the new code base.