Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help with Controlling an LED While Idle and Printing

Posted by additive_artifice 
Help with Controlling an LED While Idle and Printing
December 09, 2019 01:21AM
Greetings,

I am new to the RepRap forums, so apologies if I have posted in the wrong section. I am building a Nutella printer that uses only x and y axes and a massive syringe as the extruder, controlled via RAMPS and 2560 running latest Marlin. I have gotten nearly everything working great, and have printed with it successfully, but now I would like to add a "watchdog" LED that blinks at a certain frequency while the printer is idle and at another frequency while printing. I have hooked up a single light emitting diode to pin 40 on Aux2 on the ramps, and have been able to control it using M42 in Gcode, but I would like to be able to have it blinking while no Gcode is running so that makes me think my solution will be firmware related. I've looked through the Marlin config file, and at the LED section, but I'm not totally sure how I could adapt the current code for custom control of my LED. I am fairly new to the world of Arduino and RepRap, but I can program Arduino's since I know basic C++, so could I simply write a small program somewhere in the firmware that controls the LED via DigitalWrite etc? Or does it not work like that? Thanks for any help you guys can offer.
Re: Help with Controlling an LED While Idle and Printing
December 09, 2019 02:12AM