Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Feature Request Consideration - Relay Operability Check & Relay Failsafe Runaway Protection

Posted by awinn17 
Hey dev team!

I think of this as a "relay failsafe runaway protection" to prevent unregulated current to designated circuitry. It would require logic to be developed and some minor circuit addition. I'm a mechanical engineer, but not very knowledgeable in the software development.

The common problem:
I've been slow to want to upgrade to 110v heated bed, however I am about to do it. My main concern and probably many others' as well is the relay- electromechanicals don't play nice with PID, and SSR's typically fail 'closed' from my understanding. That last part is what I'm concerned about- even if my printer stops and signals a problem and stops the print and cuts power, the current still flows, right? That could still overheat the elements and cause a hazard or fire quickly. Perhaps I don't know enough about this part- but as I understand it at the time I'm writing this, even cut signal to the MOSFETS/SSR's, unregulated current still flows.

Solution proposal:
In my mind, it seems feasible to do a repeating 'operability check' of a SSR and install a 'failsafe' electromechanical relay ahead of the SSR (or entire system) that would be maintained 'closed' while the logic is reading safe. This could be multiplied out for all hot ends. I imagine it could be integrated to protect boards with onboard MOSFETS as well that are prone to failure.

The way I see it working would be like so:

1)
a) A feedback circuit is placed on the high voltage end of the SSR to the bed (reads voltage/no voltage and gets fed back into control board).
b) An electromechanical relay would be set to supply power to the SSR (or entire system, but I'm not sure how it would initially power on)- this electromechanical relay would be turned on via the control board as soon as the control board is turned on and runs a logic check.