Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

1.1.7 after auto home / bed leveling raises Z 10mmsad smiley

Posted by 1800 
1.1.7 after auto home / bed leveling raises Z 10mmsad smiley
December 26, 2017 08:35AM
So I just got 1.1.7 working after upgrading from a 1.0.x version. I'm finding it very annoying that after performing auto home or bed leveling that the Z-axis raises 10mm. Is there a quick fix for this? I have looked through configuration.h and configuration_adv.h and can't determine how to correct this. I'm pretty new to the Marlin firmware.
Re: 1.1.7 after auto home / bed leveling raises Z 10mmsad smiley
December 26, 2017 09:50AM
Is this what you are looking for Configuration.h

#define Z_CLEARANCE_DEPLOY_PROBE 10 // Z Clearance for Deploy/Stow

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/26/2017 09:50AM by Roberts_Clif.
December 26, 2017 12:08PM
So I tried these.

// #define Z_CLEARANCE_DEPLOY_PROBE 10 <<<< Won't verify / Must be defined

#define Z_CLEARANCE_DEPLOY_PROBE 0 <<<< "0" appears to be invalid per comments. Says >= "1" (Defaults to 5mm when used/tried.)

#define Z_CLEARANCE_DEPLOY_PROBE 1 <<<< Defaults to 5mm when used.

I don't get it. I tried this yesterday but did again just to make sure.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/26/2017 07:14PM by 1800.
December 26, 2017 01:49PM
I think this is a bug and I really think I should have the option of disabling this. I am considering moving on to 1.1.8 and see what happens.
December 27, 2017 12:02AM
The Z-Probes need some amount of clearance. Set it as low as you can without damaging your printer.

But seriously... Even a 10 mm move is nothing in the big picture. Most of my prints are 6 or 10 hours long. Is a 10 mm move on the Z-Axis to protect your printer that big of a deal?
December 27, 2017 05:52AM