Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Add password/lock screen to firmware

Posted by evo85210 
Add password/lock screen to firmware
March 06, 2019 08:53AM
This will proabbly be a weird question, I have a atom 2.0 printer, and i'm trying to add a lock screen to the the boot sequence.
but I'm having a hard time understanding the sketch.
I'm trying to use the following tutorial as a starting point:
[www.instructables.com]

and I realised, i got no idead how to initialise the LCD screen, because the board is custom, and there's no pin labelling.
and also, the printer only have a push-turn knob, there's no keypad.

here is the firmware:
[www.atom3dp.com]

What I know so far is that I should put the code in the setup() function in the file Marlin_main.cpp, just after line 507.
I'm basically new to arduino and marlin, so I don't really know what I'm doing, if someone can give me some pointers.
Re: Add password/lock screen to firmware
March 06, 2019 07:57PM
I would aim a little lower (especially with your lack of experience)

the config files says it has a standard REPRAP_DISCOUNT_SMART_CONTROLLER ie a 20x4 char display

but importantly It has a encoder with button

I would suggest implementing a combination lock, this requires no extra soldering or parts. Its just firmware (also means that anyone with standard parts can potentially help you)

So basically it prompts for a password, and displays a number, you rotate the encoder left or right to set the number you want. and select by pushing the button,
The number is then replaced with ** (to try an stop people looking over you shoulder)
You then enter the next number
repeat with as many numbers as you want.

I would recommend numbers from 00-99 and at least 3 of them.

I quite like this idea... and if I get time have a play with implementing it tonight...
March 06, 2019 09:36PM
gah, first issues is the firmware is wont even verify (compile) right out of the archive....

in cmdbuffer.h