Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Repurpose Anet_v1.0 with Marlin

Posted by FenriX 
Repurpose Anet_v1.0 with Marlin
March 08, 2019 04:50AM
Hi! I'm new in this development environment, I'm trying to build the most popular MPCNC and i would like to repurpose the control board of my Anet A8 for it.
I downloaded the source code of the marlin firmware and i'm looking at the code.

the steppers are:
X, Y, Z1, Z2, E

looking at the header file pins_anet_10 i found this:
//
// Steppers
//
#define X_STEP_PIN         15
#define X_DIR_PIN          21
#define X_ENABLE_PIN       14

#define Y_STEP_PIN         22
#define Y_DIR_PIN          23
#define Y_ENABLE_PIN       14

#define Z_STEP_PIN          3
#define Z_DIR_PIN           2
#define Z_ENABLE_PIN       26

#define E0_STEP_PIN         1
#define E0_DIR_PIN          0
#define E0_ENABLE_PIN      14

and looking at the stepper controller in the schematic of the board i found this:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ralf-e/ANET-3D-Board-V1.0/master/ANET3D_Board_Schematic.png

The controller for stepper Z1 and Z2 seems to be the same.
While X, Y and E have obviously separated controllers...

Now my objective is really simple but without any kind of experience i really don't know how to do this.
I would like to use stepper X and Y for X', Z1 and Z2 for Y' and E for Z'
for the stepper Z1 and Z2, since they have the same controller, it's easy, i just need to change the pins, and then the parameter in the configuration file...
The same goes for the Extruder stepper, here as well I have one stepper for the extruder in the original configuration and i need one stepper for the Z axes in the MPCNC project
I don't know how to use the stepper X and Y for the new X' axes, since they have separated controllers, how can i configure the header to use both of them for the same axes?
I understand that this is a really stupid question but all I know about this things is theoretical...