Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Marlin Configuration Issues

Posted by Yuoiea 
Marlin Configuration Issues
July 10, 2019 08:41PM
Hello,
I am new to 3D Printing, and I am trying to configure the 1.1.9 version of Marlin firmware for my Arduino Mega 2560-based homemade 3D printer. I am using Arduino IDE 1.8.9 to configure the firmware. I plugged my Arduino board into my computer and I opened the Marlin.ino file like I believe I am supposed to do. When the file loaded in the IDE, I encountered an issue. There is only one tab at the top, labeled "Marlin". From what I understand, there should be multiple tabs at the top of the page. Without these tabs I can't configure the firmware, so could somebody please tell me what I'm doing wrong and how I can resolve this problem?
Thanks so much.
Re: Marlin Configuration Issues
July 10, 2019 08:59PM
If you download Marlin as a zip, you have to extract all files to a directory before opening the marlin.ino
July 11, 2019 09:38PM
Okay, thanks for the advice.
So now I have all the tabs up and I have changed the configuration settings to fit my 3D printer. However, I have encountered another problem. When I plug in my Arduino board and press the upload button, the firmware takes a really long time to upload, then when it is done, apparently it couldn't upload to the board, and I get this message:
"An error occurred while uploading the sketch". I have tried both the COM3 and the COM4 ports, tried different USB outlets, tried different USB cables, and lowered the baudrate in the Configuration.h file, but nothing has worked. Also, no lights are ever flashing on my Arduino board during the download process. The only time any light flashes is this one red one that flashes when I plug in the board to my computer.
Any help would be appreciated.
July 11, 2019 11:07PM
The baud rate in Configuration.h is for marlin itself. It is not related to uploading the firmware in any way.

You really need to turn on more information.