Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How can I calculate the actual pritable area and set it in Marlin 2 ??

Posted by tolisn 
How can I calculate the actual pritable area and set it in Marlin 2 ??
February 26, 2020 02:31PM
Hi
I'm new to this 3D printing hobby so be easy.\
I have generic reprap printer with the X,Y endstop located on the LEFT and BACK of the printer so I asume that the 0/0 position of the printer is located on the Left/Back of the print bed.
Now all the examples that I have found use the 0/0 position as the Front/Left of the print bed and that has gotten me confused. I also have a bltouch probe locate to the right of the nozzel.

How do I go about calculating the the auto bed leveling touch points and the actual printable area ? I'm using Marlin 2.0
Re: How can I calculate the actual pritable area and set it in Marlin 2 ??
February 26, 2020 03:56PM
By LEFT/BACK you mean that the X carriage is to the left and the bed is at the back? In this case the home position is actually LEFT/FRONT since you care about the location of the nozzle with respect to the bed.

Or do you mean that the nozzle is at the back of the bed (i.e. the bed is all the way forward)? In this case, there's a problem.

Marlin needs the 0,0 position to be either at the LEFT/FRONT or RIGHT/BACK of the bed (in the latter case, it just acts like the printer was rotated 180 degrees). If this is not the case with your setup you'll have to configure Y to home to MAX instead of MIN.
February 26, 2020 11:45PM
When I press HOME, the bed moves to the left and to the back. Is this normal?
February 26, 2020 11:59PM
Please provide pictures of your machine.

The bed on most machines only moves in one direction, Normally front to back or up and down.
But there are some oddball machines that move the bed in left/right and front/back. But if this is the case it is not a generic reprap printer.

If it is actually doing as you say then it is homing to X-max and Y-Min