Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z_MIN_POS, MANUAL_Z_HOME_POS

Posted by keen101 
Z_MIN_POS, MANUAL_Z_HOME_POS
June 28, 2020 11:58AM
Could someone clarify the difference between Z_MIN_POS and MANUAL_Z_HOME_POS?

I am currently modding a Lulzbot mini to have a prusa mini bed. As such i need to write custom marlin firmware for the new bed height not to crash. I am confused at how to use each setting properly.
Re: Z_MIN_POS, MANUAL_Z_HOME_POS
June 30, 2020 10:05AM
Disclaimer: I am not an expert.
There must be something about a Luzabot printer that I don't know.
My home built CoreXY, and every other printer I have seen, has an adjustable Z-endstop.
Therefore, you would just set that and nothing else changes. I used to swap my bed by laying a piece of glass over a small hotbed. I had to readjust the endstop each time. I now have a nozzle endstop/probe and it is automatic.

Unfortunately, a developer's ability to define things for users is limited.

// Travel limits (mm) after homing, corresponding to endstop positions.
#define Z_MIN_POS 0

Doing a search of all the files, it appears that Z_MIN_POS sets software endstops
You might want this negative if you have a dump area or a nozzle wipe area that is below the bed.
I can't rationalize a positive number for it.

=======
If you define this, Marlin sets Z_HOME_POS to this. That is the only use I find in the search.

// Manually set the home position. Leave these undefined for automatic settings.
// For DELTA this is the top-center of the Cartesian print volume.
//#define MANUAL_Z_HOME_POS 0

Why you would want this anything other than 0, I have no idea.
Changing it would appear to have the same affect as Z offset and would add to Z offset.

I think you just need to experiment if you think you need to change these. But do so carefully. An easily accessible reset button is convenient.
June 30, 2020 10:44AM
Thanks for the reply. I think i figured this one out. Yeah I've been messing with it this week.