Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Marlin queue and sending GCODE to it...help please

Posted by warpster 
Marlin queue and sending GCODE to it...help please
November 03, 2022 05:13PM
OK, fist let me say I am a C++ idiot, I've done a lot of Basic and some Arduino C stuff but I'm not good at C....so please forgive how stupid I sound. I have been trying to get a project going that involves using a 2560 and RAMPS 1.4 and an old Full Graphics Display. I am modifying the Marlin code to essentially remove most menus and add one of my own to control a filament rewinder. The rewinder has micro switches for endstops X_Min(left side of spool), and X_Max(right side of spool). I have endstops enabled at all times and I modified endstops.cpp to capture when X_Max triggers. The X_Min and X_Max detect the size of the spool to wind onto (needed to guide the filament back and forth as it winds the filament). So I have figured out enough to get a menu up and from that menu I can home the X_Min and then I move X to the right till it hits the X_Max endstop and that sets my upper limit.

That part is all working but where I am running into my issues is when I try to send the actual GCODE. The GCODES are similar to this, I set absolute mode for the X stepper(driving the filament guide) and relative mode for the extruder stepper(driving the spool winding)

G90
M83
G1 X58 E330 F1000; spool the next layer to the Left and wind 33 times (example on a 60mm wide spool)
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
G1 X58 E330
G1 X1 E330
etc....
So X goes back and forth to guide the wrapping of the filament and E drives the spool itself. A movement of 10 on the extruder is one wrap.