Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Get a random seed to randomize auto file order [C++, MarlinFW]

Posted by daninet 
Get a random seed to randomize auto file order [C++, MarlinFW]
March 04, 2023 06:01AM
Hi,
I'm a novice programmer when it comes to C++ and I'm utterly unfamiliar with the marlin firmware when it comes to the coding part (even though I have been using and configuring Marlin for a decade).
My situation is the following: I made a kinetic sand are table, similar to the sisyphus table if you are familiar with it. I have used 3d printer components (SKR mini board, pencake steppers etc) to make a 2d mechanical rail that moves a magnet.
I have my patterns made in gcode, but these patterns are made slow, hence I'm looking for an option to randomize their order, whenever I turn on my table a different pattern will start.
My issue is since I'm unfamiliar with the firmware as a code I don't know how to get a random seed and I need help. The random(0,10); function is not truly random and has the same order every time I turn on the machine.

So here is what I have so far, I have modified line 840 in cardreader.cpp

#if DISABLED(NO_SD_AUTOSTART)
/**

Run all the auto#.g files. Called:
        On boot after successful card init.
        From the LCD command to Run Auto Files
        /
        void CardReader::autofile_begin() {
        autofile_index = 1;
        (void)autofile_check();
        }
        /*
    Run the next auto#.g file. Called:
        On boot after successful card init
        After finishing the previous auto#.g file
        From the LCD command to begin the auto#.g files
    Return 'true' if an auto file was started
    */
    bool CardReader::autofile_check() {
    if (!autofile_index) return false;

if (!isMounted())
mount();
else if (ENABLED(SDCARD_EEPROM_EMULATION))
settings.first_load();

// Don't run auto#.g when a PLR file exists
if (isMounted() && TERN1(POWER_LOSS_RECOVERY, !recovery.valid())) {
char autoname[10];