marlin download
March 20, 2023 03:57PM
hi every body im hoping some one can help me. ive been trying to download marlin to an old 3d printer that i bought a couple of years ago for a small price, how ever i had to upgrade my mother board and monitor as the ones that came with it were not very good. So i bought a btt skr 2 /1.3-32bit vgt6 motherboard and a touch screen btt tft24-v1.1 stm 32f sceen.which i bought a bout 12 months ago and have been trying to down load it till it got me stumped,i have joined many forums to ask but never got any replys.Any way i was watching a young man on youtube whome i followed to the t and was going well right up till i had to go into a folder where all the motherboards were except the one i have.so my question is can i use another btt boards configuration to be able to complete the download.sorry to have gone on a bit but im just stumped as im not very good at 3d printing at the moment.look forward to any replys and help so let me say a big thank you in advance.
all the best ian.
Re: marlin download
March 20, 2023 10:29PM
What printer do you have? Maybe there is an example config for your printer. Makes it a lot easier to start.
March 20, 2023 10:31PM
When you change the controller, you need to firmware that supports that controller.

The btt skr 2 and the btt skr 1.3 are different boards. Look at your controller, the name of the board is probably written on it, Both have been in stock marlin for some time.

BOARD_BTT_SKR_V2_0_REV_A // BigTreeTech SKR v2.0 Rev A (STM32F407VG)
BOARD_BTT_SKR_V2_0_REV_B // BigTreeTech SKR v2.0 Rev B (STM32F407VG/STM32F429VG)
BOARD_BTT_SKR_V1_3 // BigTreeTech SKR v1.3 (LPC1768)

You select the motherboard you have with a line like for eg. #define MOTHEBOARD BOARD_BTT_SKR_V2_0_REV_B in your Configuration.h file

No you cannot use another board, the board defines what MPU the controller has and what pins on the controller are used for what fuction.