Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Duet 0.8.5 and Fan Always On Connection

Posted by Viper97 
Duet 0.8.5 and Fan Always On Connection
March 10, 2016 01:34PM
I'm hooking up a hot end constant fan as well as two 50mm fans for cooling the bed. I have them plugged into the always on fan sockets but it turns on they don't power up. Hmmm... I've checked the wiring of the fans and all is well there. Positive to positive and negative to negative. Then I thought... oh there must be a M code to turn on the fans... it appears I found the PWM fan M code but nothing related to the actual Always On connection.

I'm probably missing something simple here (I'm new to the Duet) and this is not a show stopper since I can always wire directly to the 24V PSU. However I was hoping to find the 'correct' way (and hopefully learn a bit more) about how the Duet and the G/M codes work.

Am I missing something? Currently using DC42's latest release (r I believe).

Suggestions? Guidance? A gentle nudge off the precipice?

Regards... and thanks.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/10/2016 01:35PM by Viper97.
Re: Duet 0.8.5 and Fan Always On Connection
March 10, 2016 03:34PM
The always on fan connectors are wired direct to the power input, so they are not controlled by software at all.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
March 10, 2016 04:28PM
dc42
The always on fan connectors are wired direct to the power input, so they are not controlled by software at all.

Thanks DC... I thought that was how it worked. Sometimes when it doesn't work the way I thought it did... I tend to delve deeper into the mystery than I should. I'll review my connections again or choose the alternate method.
March 11, 2016 01:53AM