Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Duet WiFi: Configuring Steppers on a Prusa-style (TMC 2660)

Posted by kenblu24 
Duet WiFi: Configuring Steppers on a Prusa-style (TMC 2660)
October 13, 2016 10:11PM
I've never used *anything* Trinamic before, and I can't figure out how to configure the steppers. I'm running a Prusa-style printer. Two Z steppers, one X and one Y. All motors are 1.8 degree.

The Z axis of all things is giving me the most problems. I've set the current for Z to 1200ma. It's an 8mm pitch leadscrew, holding about 500mm of V-slot Aluminum 2020, and about 300g of extruder. Shouldn't be too much for the motors to handle, right? However, the left motor, connected to ZA, is overheating while the one connected to ZB is only mildly hot. Also, when in motion, it's really easy for me to stop one of the motors with my hand, yet at idle (idle current set to 40%) it's about as powerful as I'd expect from a TI or Polulu driver. It's also ridiculously noisy both at standby and at in motion (though they were dead quiet with no load)

Z axis runs 400 steps/mm, max 900mm/min (15mm/s), other axis 53.3 steps/mm, max 9000 mm/min (150 mm/s)

Is there a way to change idle current per driver? The Y axis is really easy for me to move by hand at idle, but the Z axis is fine at idle.

Why is my Z axis so noisy, yet so weak when in motion? I thought stallguard was supposed to prevent that. Same for Y axis at idle.
Re: Duet WiFi: Configuring Steppers on a Prusa-style (TMC 2660)
October 14, 2016 04:13PM