Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to 3D Printers

Posted by Scubasteve23 
New to 3D Printers
February 03, 2013 09:30PM
Hey Guys,
Im a student from Hamilton and am currently looking at building/buying my first 3d Printer. I will be asking a lot of questions and being that you guys are my local know-it-all's.. I hope you don't mind me harassing you all. I look forward to my new hobby and hope I will get tons of help from all of you.
Thanks in advance
Steve
Re: New to 3D Printers
February 04, 2013 06:03AM
Welcome to 3D printing....

Ask away.

Regards
February 04, 2013 05:06PM
Welcome and enjoy the Adventure!

Questions are always welcome.

Answers depend on the experiences of the posters involved though.

Komb'
Glankonian Protoforms
February 04, 2013 06:42PM
One thing that I have been getting very confused about. What is the unofficial "best" homemade 3d Printer? Im thinking the gerneral consenses is the Prusa Mendel. If so who has the best parts for the Prusa and where should I buy printing material. PLA or ABS? SO many quetions... so little time. Thank again guys/ and gals
February 04, 2013 09:22PM
Hello ! I am in Hamilton as well as building a second 3d printer. If you have any questions regarding local parts sourcing or local printed parts, feel free to send me an email.

Ive bought some parts and plastic from [www.voxelfactory.com] and it came within 2 days of ordering. Also bought a load of parts from www.mixshop.com with good results.

Fastenal is an easy place to get hardware, have gotten a load of stuff from them as well, and they have plenty of Hamilton locations.
A lot of local metal supply stores as well in Downtown Stoney Creek.
February 05, 2013 07:56AM
Scubasteve23

Your questions about "best" printer is a can of worms. It would be like me posting to a car forums, and asking what is the best muscle car.

winking smiley