Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hello Tronto Group

Posted by MrAnderson 
Hello Tronto Group
November 27, 2010 03:13PM
Hi everyone.

My name is Shane, I'm a high school technology teacher and a Mechanical Designer.
I would greatly appreciate some help getting started and would gladly offer my assistance to others if it is required.

My Goal is to have my own machine that i can visit classrooms with. I would love to make new acquaintances through the RepRap.

Best Regards,
Shane

P.S. I have attached a part for fun (Step 214).
Attachments:
open | download - E053S_E015S.STEP (549.7 KB)
open | download - E053S_E015S.pdf (111.1 KB)
open | download - SE-2A.pdf (121.8 KB)
Re: Hello Toronto Group
November 27, 2010 05:45PM
Hi Shane,

I just discovered Reprap recently, and being and industrial designer (and a bit of a Car-nerd), the sheer "geekyness" tongue sticking out smiley of building my own FDM machine has made me decide I want to build one as an over-Christmas-break project.

There seem to be so many "options" for the purchase of parts out there I'm a bit ovewhemed at exactly what I should be looking for. Maybe it would be fun to take this journey together...

Grant
Re: Hello Tronto Group
November 27, 2010 06:00PM
Hey guys, I built my first Reprap out in Toronto, but I'm in Vancouver these days. Send me an email (wbortz at gmail dot com) if you've got any questions regarding where to find stuff in Toronto - I've probably already been to most of the places you'll need to go. Interaccess was a great help when I was out there - I used their workshop for my initial build, when I didn't have access to any workshop space.

Interesting part there Mr Anderson - it will need support material to print as is, but if you move the spokes of the wheel flush with one side, it should print just fine. I've been having a lot of success printing spur gears; you just have to design with the reprapping process in mind.

Wade
November 27, 2010 07:32PM