Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to Reprap - Advice needed

Posted by ITWhiz 
New to Reprap - Advice needed
February 03, 2011 06:36AM
Hi folks,

I'm new to Reprap, followed a link on the internet and couldn't stop finding more things people had made - absolutely impressed. Showed my wife and I have been ordered to build one !!! Not only me, but my Son's are going to help me, one of them is starting a cybernetics degree course in September.

I've been in IT for over 20 years and the programming, CAD design is easy, it's the electronics that scare me, so any chance of some advice

1) Where can I get the cad drawings for a reprap machine (Mendel, huxley etc)

2) I've sourced some stepper motors, but they are Nema 16's - Are these suitable or do I need Nema 17's ?

3) The Electronics - Do I have to make the circuit boards or can I buy them already made from somewhere ?

4) Plastic supplier ?

5) Extruder head - Buy or Make ?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Re: New to Reprap - Advice needed
February 03, 2011 03:15PM
ITWhiz Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
>
> 1) Where can I get the cad drawings for a reprap machine (Mendel, huxley etc)
>

Mendel Files

> 2) I've sourced some stepper motors, but they are Nema 16's - Are these suitable or do I need Nema 17's ?
>

What is important is the holding torque of the Stepper Motors.

> 3) The Electronics - Do I have to make the circuit boards or can I buy them already made from somewhere ?
>

Nowadays the better question would be: "Which electronics do I want to use?"!

There are a lot of choices:
1) Original 'Makerbot' Generation 3 electronics
   a) Makerbot (assembled or as kit)
   b) GRRF
2) Improved/Reduced Techzone Generation 3 electronics
3) Pololu Electronics
4) RAMPS
   a) Ultimachine
5) Generation 4 Electronics
   a) Makerbot
5) Generation 6
   a) Mendel-Parts
6) Generation 7