Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Electronic parts in UK

Posted by Keigh 
Electronic parts in UK
November 25, 2007 10:50AM
Hi,

I received my boards from the reprap store a few weeks back. I have been trying to order the electrical parts so I can start soldering up my boards, however I am no expert on the electrical side of things so I am finding ordering these parts quite hard. I want to source the parts in the UK so they dont have to be flown half way across the world.

I have started to put together a order at RS components but I have found that a lot of the exact parts are not avaliable through RS. I have tried to work out suitable alternatives, but by the time I has got through half the parts I started to doubt what I had chosen to order was correct.

I then attempted to put together an order at uk Farnell. It has most of the components available but they have to be sent over from America at an extra cost.

How did you guys get the components? Should I just order through mouser in the US to make sure I get the parts that will do the job?
Re: Electronic parts in UK
November 26, 2007 04:14PM
Hi

I'm about to buy all the parts this side of the pond also, I've not fully looked at the list but will do tomorrow or Wednesday it will all come from RS or Farnell from UK stock i.e free delivery I would be happy to send you a copy of the orders, I sort of design electronics for my job so i should be able to ensure any alternatives are electrically correct.

Do you have accounts with both?

I will also be making these parts available via our web site at the end of this week for people who have trouble buying from RS & Farnell, I also intend to make programed PIC's available for people without a programmer.

Ian
November 27, 2007 07:45AM
Ian,