Posted by mung 
Re: Considering a new extruder design
February 17, 2011 02:23PM
> When you say "just read all blogs and wikis and
> forums" I think that is not really useful or
> feasible. If the Reprap team wanted to really spur
> development they should provide some real
> scientific and engineering data for 'would be'
> developers to work from and make calculations.
> Most of the blogs may be entertaining reading, but
> from the sample I have seen none have much in the
> way of hard facts based on experiment or
> calculations.

No, it's not really useful. Sorry. but for right now that's all I can suggest.

and like Cefiar said above, reprap is really just a bunch of people building their machines. There is no Team, it's just people contributing whatever they find useful. I've done some wiki editing, and some development work, and i try to document as much as i can on the forums. I'm not an engineer or a scientist, so i can't help you in that regard.

I think we're lucky to have the information that we DO have. But you are right, we NEED that basic information.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/17/2011 03:02PM by Buback.
February 21, 2011 08:35AM
We all use calcs from different places, the skill is in knowing which calc to use when.

The oldest thing in my office (250+ people) is my copy of "Machinery's Handbook" -1939.

£10 off eBay. (Other online retailers are available!)

I use it at least once a week.

A lot of the calcs and units are in Imperial, but most of the principles have not changed since it was printed. More modern versions have metric units, but still contain 95% of the same material. Try and get a copy for yourself.

Other places of interest for calculations are MatWeb and RoyMech (former for material data, latter for calculations similar to Machinery's).