Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hello!, a Noob and his cheap hot end "design"

Posted by epengr 
Hello!, a Noob and his cheap hot end "design"
March 13, 2011 03:43PM
Hello all,

I'm new here, just starting to gather materials to build a Prusa Mendel. I'm a grad student and trying to do this for as cheap as possible.

To that end, I decided to take a run at designing my own hot end. Here it is! I'd love to hear and comments or suggestions. There are some obvious serious issues but nothing that can't be easily resolved, I think.

There's minimum machining, I had access to drill press but it could be done with a hand drill. All you need is a little piece of Aluminum (or a big piece and a hack saw), and a tap.

The tip is a 0.6 mm MIG welder tip, cut down, tapered and drilled inside to 3.5 mm. There are tapped holes to attach a pair of 15 Ohm 15 W power resistors to be wired in parallel (they were available.)

The thermal break is going to be made from Hydrostone, a Plaster of Paris type material that's MUCH strong than PoP. I created a mold out of LEGOs (yes, LEGOs - so awesome) that will have 2 captive nuts to mount the tip block and a groove to attache a mount plate a la MakerGear. A brass tube was inserted to created a channel for the plastic - it will be pulled out after. [EDIT: added photos of placing captive nuts.]

I've never used LEGOs for this before, demolding was a little tricky in places but it worked out well. Is take at least several hours for the hydrostone to fully set and the excess moisture to evaporate, so you can modify and fine tune it pretty easily by carving carefully with a knife.

Here it's "assembled", with the resistors installed and foamcore board serving as a mount (for now). The the x-carriage and Wades parts were printed by North90ty, who gave me a great deal. I'm very lucky to have another repraper here in town.