Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Infill/hatching technique

Posted by james19181 
Infill/hatching technique
March 28, 2011 08:40AM
Hey all,
I was wondering if anyone had tried experimenting with different ways of filling in a 3D model? Or how easily the RepRap software would accomodate this.
For example if building a cube, trying to go round in a spiral to build up the layers?
Re: Infill/hatching technique
March 28, 2011 02:46PM
I'm no expert since I don't have a printer yet, but the infill I've seen isn't solid. Without going into details, this sounds like it would be a lot of work to use a spiral on some infill layers.

What kinds of benefits were you thinking might be gotten by using a spiral infill pattern?
March 31, 2011 09:23AM
I can't speak for skeinforge, but the host software *should* do this just by setting the number of shells to a ridiculously high value. I've never tried it myself for plastic prints, but this is the infill technique host already uses for PCBs.
March 31, 2011 02:21PM
It sounds like you're trying to ask if you can "turn on" the extruder and never turn it off until the print is done. The short answer is no.

There does appear to be some benefit to making the entire object from a single strand, but for several reasons we don't even try to do that. The main one is simplicity though. If you're doing a complex object with several "islands" as it grows, you'd have to do some really complex crap to make sure the print head didn't run into the already built piece. Almost certainly have to be able to tip the extruder on it's side, for instance. There is some software/algorythms written to do that, there was a guy who was doing wire extrusion fabrication and wrote something that would convert any object into a toolpath for a single piece of wire. Don't remember where I saw that though, and it was his master's thesis or something so who knows how useable it really was.