Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Does an object need to be fabbed all at once?

Posted by Ru 
Ru
Does an object need to be fabbed all at once?
February 23, 2008 06:52AM
Forgive me for being a bit of an ignorant newbie here... I can't quite afford to assemble my own restrap quite yet winking smiley

Is it practical for an object to be part-fabricated, left to cool, and then be completed? Or would the layers not adhere together correctly? Lets ignore various issues here like the sorts of stresses the completed part is going to be put under.

I'm pondering a few software things here (such as crash recovery).

It would of course be nice to have a build pause part way through whilst you add various extra bits (threaded nuts spring to mind) but there would be a whole new set of problems there in making the deposition head avoid raised lumps...
Re: Does an object need to be fabbed all at once?
February 23, 2008 12:30PM
The problem with FDM is that it requires a flat surface to extrude on, whether you're beginning a print or in the middle of a print.

If you stop and let the partial print cool for several hours the flat surface you've been printing on might well warp, which means you may not have a good basis for restarting the print later. I had that happen to me when I printed a replacement polymer pump for my extruder. I got halfway finished by bedtime and didn't want to leave the printer going while I was a asleep. Next morning I restarted the print. After I got finished with it you could see a separation plane developing between where the first print session left off and the second one began.

From what nophead has said it could be that you have to hike the extruder heater temperature up when you start to print on a cold surface in order to get a good bond between the cool layer and the next one.

That's my experience, anyway.
February 23, 2008 05:13PM
I've been thinking it would be useful to set breakpoints in order to insert all those trapped nuts.