Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What free software will do the job and not blow my mind>grinning smiley<

Posted by terramir 
What free software will do the job and not blow my mind>grinning smiley<
December 31, 2011 04:06AM
Hi it's terramir,
As the title says what free design tools will I be able to use with the rewrap that will be able to create compatible files so I can print the things I want.
Also as the title says ones that will not completely blow my mind, I'm 40 and while I am smart I have never used these tools best I've ever done is draw 3D with a pencil (depth with 45 degree angle or a separate drawing and honestly I suck at drawing LOL.
for the total noob. What programs will let me load all the files you guys have published print them on paper for replication in wood as well as print them later in plastic so I can then slowly rebuild my machine I am starting to work on now. I want to be able to make my own designs as well.
terramir
Re: What free software will do the job and not blow my mind>grinning smiley<
December 31, 2011 02:20PM
December 31, 2011 06:21PM
yeah seems like all I could do with that is design a furniture floor plan, if it works someone point me to a good tutorial please
terramir
January 01, 2012 05:10AM
Currently there are two reasonable sets of open source software for doing technical CAD: OpenSCAD and FreeCAD. OpenSCAD is more a programming language for geometry, FreeCAD tries to be GUI-driven.

If this doesn't satisfy you, plunk down the money. A basic Catia licence (without all the goodies) is about $30'000. Cheaper sets exist, of course, but this hints on how ambitious a really good CAD package is.

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

January 01, 2012 06:42AM
okies two choices but here's the kicker where are some good tutorials so I can learn them
terramir
January 02, 2012 09:02AM
Traumflug Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Currently there are two reasonable sets of open