Advanced

How to convert 2d image to single layer stl file

Posted by tal 
tal
How to convert 2d image to single layer stl file
September 01, 2012 10:00PM
Hi all,

I'm new in this fielw.
I am about to build a Reprap 3d printer and there is an application which I would like to use the printer for 2d print such as a plotter which can print a full painted single color image.
Is it possible on Photoshop software to save a file as 2d STL or 3d single layer STL?

Thanks,
Tal
Re: How to convert 2d image to single layer stl file
September 02, 2012 12:56AM
I would like to add to this:-

Has anyone designed a head that will print/plot with a lacquer paint?
September 02, 2012 03:20PM
You *might be able to import to Sketchup, then convert to STL after giving the 0-height image a thickness. Full color sounds a bit daunting with the tech at the stage it's at.

erm...yes, in fact you can, sort of

open a photo in Sketchup
select it using the selection tool
right click the selected object and choose explode
then you can reselect the exploded object and use the push pull tool to apply thickness, setting it to a few layers of height, say 0.6mm for a 0.2mm print layer thickness (just to give it some substance.
Export to STL, (making sure to set mm as your units)
push through your slicing program, and print.

I have no idea how you're going to handle a mutlicolored image though. that's another answer from someone more sage than me.

edit: forgot to include proof of concept

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/02/2012 03:23PM by xiando.
Attachments:
open | download - photo_3d_sketchup.png (26.4 KB)
September 02, 2012 03:41PM
You can use programs like Omm nom nom or PNG23D. But since RepRaps run Gcode you can use any program that generates gcode for milling like Inkscape to generate the gcode directly from a vector graphic.

FFF Settings Calculator Gcode post processors Geometric Object Deposition Tool Blog
Tantillus.org Mini Printable Lathe How NOT to install a Pololu driver